Washing-up

Most days I wake up to this

I’m not sure how me and my boyfriend create so much mess while cooking.

We’re passionate people OK.  Cooking is more like embarking on a scientific adventure than well, cooking.

Before we’ve known it, hours have passed and we’ve rustled up a better omelette and chips than… Anyway, this post isn’t just me moaning about washing-up.

But, hang on, maybe it is.

I mean I’ve done my washing-up time.

A few years ago I was employed by a catering company to wash-up at music venues, hey, I’m not bragging but I’ve washed up for the best: The Killers, Willie Nelson, Diana Ross, Justin Timberlake… I know I like to write fiction, but this ain’t fiction, I’ve washed up for Dolly Parton for goodness sake. Twelve hour shifts, ending with shiny pans, Diana Ross’s dirty plate now clean, a broken back, arms, and crinkly hands. Anyway, I’m not here to make you jealous. Just expressing that if I’d have known then what I know now, I’d be a bit more well-listened.

Q. What you should do should you find yourself in long and tedious work?

A. Listen to audiobooks.

Ones that you haven’t time to read because they’re just too long. So far I’ve listened to Robinson Crusoe, Emma, Madame Bovary, Anna Kareninna. And I get them all free from here…

http://librivox.org/

I’ve also just read somewhere that Audiblehttp://www.audible.co.uk/  is offering one free audiobook for download, so I might give them a go.

Let’s abolish the long & tedious.

                              ‘Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance’                                Edgar Bergan.

1 Comment

Filed under Inspiration

One response to “Washing-up

  1. i bet cooking isnt the only do you do together or is it?

    there must be something else you aint telling us

    hey can i ask that you (facebook) like my blog page please

    http://www.readersparadiso.com/blog and there’s a fb like with other peoples’s pic on it

Leave a Reply

