Help, time’s running out…

After ten years or so… of trying to be an actor, with tunnel vision, with a ridiculous amount of determination and not a lot of focused energy I suddenly realised that, I’ve just hit thirty and damn, there’s so much I want and... panic, panic, panic…

We live in an age where the motto What you think about you bring about is well advertised.

What was I thinking about then? That I wanted to flit from one job to the next, that I didn’t want any money, that I… poor me, poor me etc…

I sought advice.  I discovered that a good starting point is to write down everything you’ve ever wanted…

So I began…

1. become an actor.

2. get better at guitar

3. write songs

4…..

The more I wrote the more I wanted. Hang on, I thought, I only get one life…

Q.    How will I live with myself if I don’t turn out to be a… violin-harmonica playing, song-writing, money-making, artist,   musician, yoga, meditating, thin girl, actor… ?

A.    I couldn’t live with myself.

So I set about becoming. I even made myself a chart and coloured it in each time I’d made progress to one of my goals. Here’s the proof…

So…

 After madly trying to achieve everything, I’d managed to discover what I was really driven to spend time doing. And that was writing. And I wrote, wrote, wrote, and then I had a book, and now it’s being published (of course it wasn’t that easy). How’s that for a happy ending? But then, of course, there’s always that voice in your head…

…but what about song-writing, and you always wanted to be a dancer, and why are you so pedantic and… 

But seriously, however it feels, don’t be afraid to consider everything and if your as pedantic as me you could create a goal wheel, like I did. You might find out what you’re willing to invest time in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

