Anyone for a bit of marriage?

‘I can see that look in your eye,’ says Rosemary.

‘What look?’ asks Ronald.

‘It’s the look of a man that’s about to propose.’

‘But, I wasn’t even looking at you.’

‘I’ve seen it before, I’m telling you.’

‘Yes, sorry.’

‘They never do look into your eyes. It’s always just above your eyes that they stare: your forehead.’

‘Right.’

‘Yes. And if we marry, that’s’ two years of our lives… Gone,’ says Rosemary, clipping her fingers in the air. ‘Just like that. It’s a wasted enterprise. Do you hear me?’

‘Yes, well, Rosemary. You like a good celebration though don’t you?’

‘I do.’ says Rosemary

‘I do.’ says Ronald

Their gazes fix for less than a second – but it feels much longer.

Welcome to Rosemary and Ronald. Two characters who live in the novel ‘Find Mark’. This conversation is not in my novel but I did manage to earwig it today.

2 Comments

Filed under A Dialogue

2 responses to “Anyone for a bit of marriage?

  1. There is no easy way to get back to the front page of yr blog, no link or anything. You might wanna take a look at that.

    Anyway, good stuff! I do crave more insight into these two though.

Leave a comment